Tomato Sevai & Lemon Sevai (Cooking for guests – post 1)

Tomato Sevai_wp

Lemon Sevai_wp

This is my first post on the series – “Cooking for guests”. Sometimes planning a menu for a dinner party or potluck can be confusing. I usually take a very long time to decide on my menu and most of the times I end up changing my menu till the last minute 🙂 I thought a collection of recipes in one place could make things easier. I had a relative visiting us for dinner yesterday and it took me forever to decide on the menu. I usually make some roti/paratha, curry and pulav when I am cooking for a dinner or I go with traditional south Indian meals if I have invited them for lunch. So yesterday I decided to make aloo paratha, Dal palak, veg pulav and curd rice and got ready to do my grocery shopping. That’s when  Suki, a friend of mine called and as I told her about the menu, she suggested I make sevai/string hoppers as it is less time consuming. I am a big fan of her tomato sevai. It was a big hit in a potluck once. So I quickly  got the recipe from her and decided to give it a try. I am glad I decided to take her advise as it did not take a lot of time and it was perfect for a casual light dinner 🙂 So here’s the recipe for tomato and lemon sevai. I adopted my lemon rice recipe in lemon sevai. I also made my coriander coconut chutney and sambar to go with it.

Tomato Sevai:

Ingredients:

  • Instant Sevai
  • 4-5 medium tomatoes finely chopped
  • 1/2 tbsp finely chopped garlic or garlic paste
  • 1 sprig curry leaves
  • 1 big onion finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1/2 tsp urad dal
  • 1 tsp chana dal
  • 1/4 tsp asafoetida
  • 1 dried red chilly
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 11/2 tbsp sambar powder
  • 1/2 tsp coriander powder
  • 2 tbsp finely chopped coriander leaves
  • 1-11/2 tbsp oil ( I used a mix of gingelly and canola oil)
  • salt to  taste

Method:

Cook Sevai as per package instructions. ( You will usually have to soak the sevai in very hot water for 2-3 minutes. Follow the instructions in your sevai packet carefully. We dont want to end up with a mushy or undercooked sevai). When done spread the cooked sevai on a plate to cool down.

In a big kadai, add oil and heat the oil. Add mustard, cumin, asafoetida, curry leaves, red chilly, urad dal, chana dal and let the mustard splutter.

Add the garlic and onions and saute until the onions turn translucent.

Add the chopped tomatoes, spice powders (turmeric, sambar, coriander powder) and cook until oil starts leaving the sides of the pan. It should resemble a thokku (chutney).

When done, add salt, coriander leaves and cooked sevai. Mix everything carefully.  Serve hot with chutney and vadam/chips.

Tomato Sevai_wp

Lmeon Sevai:

For lemon sevai Cook sevai according to package instructions and follow the recipe for Lemon capsicum rice I posted before. We are just substituting rice with Sevai/string hoppers 🙂

Lemon Sevai_wp

I served this with Chutney, Sambar and some potato chips 🙂

This entry was posted in INDIAN TIFFINS, Recipes, SOUTH INDIAN and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tomato Sevai & Lemon Sevai (Cooking for guests – post 1)

  1. srividhya says:

    Sevais.. it’s total fun to prepare. I love the naazhi or the presser. That’s d fun part. Yum

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love having this sevai for breakfast! So delicious!

    Like

  3. My favorite breakfast:-)can I have some

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mypinchofyum says:

    THE LIEBSTER AWARD!!
    By the way, I have been following your blog and just really enjoy the talent you share there. As a result, I would like to know a little more about you. Thus, I have nominated you for The “Liebster Award!”
    I would not be surprised if you’ve been nominated before, but if you’re like me, you never get tired of being acknowledged! Please follow the link to – https://mypinchofyum.wordpress.com/2015/06/24/wowie-its-my-1st-2nd-3rd-liebster-award/

    Like

Leave a Reply

