Pumpkin curry – Kerala style / Pumpkin eriserri

pumpkin eriserriI found a cook book inside one of my suitcases, when I was searching for an old dress of mine. I realized I got that book as a gift from one of my friend for my wedding and had never used it even once. It was lying unnoticed by me all these days in the suitcase amongst all the unwanted dresses and sarees my mom had packed. I went through the book and saw it had a lot of south Indian style recipes with some colorful pictures. Since it is pumpkin season I have been wanting to try out some pumpkin recipes and I came across this curry in the book. I am generally not a big fan of kerala food, mainly because their food have a strong taste of coconut oil in everything. But this recipe was so very simple and easy, it tempted me to try it at home. I must say I reduced the usage of coconut oil in the recipe and used normal oil instead. But I did add a little coconut oil in the end to give it a kerala flavor:)

Serves 4-6

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups red pumpkin (pooshanikai) peeled and cut into cubes
  • salt to taste

To be ground to a smooth paste:

  • 3/4 cup grated coconut
  • 2-3 red chillies
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1/2 cup water

Tempering:

  • 2 tsp oil (preferably coconut oil)
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 sprig curry leaves
  • 1 tsp urad dhal

Method:

Grind all the ingredients given to make a paste and keep aside.

In a pan boil 1 cup water and add the pumpkin and 1 tsp salt. Cover the pan and simmer until the pumpkin gets cooked say about 10-15 minutes.

When the pumpkin becomes soft mash it with the back of your ladle or masher to make a puree.

Add the ground coconut mixture to the pumpkin and cook uncovered for 2-3 minutes. Adjust salt as necessary.

Now make tadka/tempering by adding oil in a pan. When hot, add mustard seeds, urad dhal, curry leaves and wait until the mustard seeds splutter.

Pour the tadka on the pumpkin curry and serve hot with rice.

This entry was posted in INDIAN MAIN DISHES, Recipes, SOUTH INDIAN and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

