Grilled cheese avocado sandwich

avocado sandwichI love making sandwiches.I experiment with different fillings and seasonings all the time. But my favorite ingredients that goes into most of my sandwiches are avacado, green chutney and cucumbers.My pantry is always stocked with these ingredients. Green chutney is so very often used in our house as I use it in most of my sandwiches. I have already posted the recipe for green chutney here.

We all know avocado is super healthy as they are packed with loads of vitamins and minerals and I personally can eat avocados all the time if you let me. Initially I wasn’t a big fan of avocados. But when I started including them in sandwiches I realized they weren’t bad. Since they oxidize fast I would  use the whole avocado rather than storing them for later use, which meant using them in different recipes. That eventually made me a hard core fan of this super food! Now for the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 4 Whole wheat bread slices
  • 1 avocado mashed
  • 1-2 onion slices
  • 4-5 cucumber slices
  • 1 slice cheddar or any cheese of your choice
  • 2 tbsp green chutney
  • 1/4 tsp chaat masala
  • salt as required
  • a pinch of black pepper
  • a pinch of cayenne pepper powder
  • oil/butter for grilling

Method:

Spread mashed avocado on one slice of buttered bread and green chutney on the other.

Place rest of the ingredients (onions, cucumber, and cheese) in between and sprinkle some chaat masala, pepper, cayenne pepper powder and salt on them.

Grill them until they are nice and brown and the cheese starts to melt.

Slice them in half and serve hot.

avocado sandwich(1)

This entry was posted in Recipes, SANDWICHES and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

