spicy diamonds cuts/ maida khara biscuits

DSC_0001Diwali is here and there are number of recipes running in my head ( gulab jamun, kaju katli, pista rolls, jalebi, muruku, pakodas, bajjis…. the list goes on). As much as I want to try out all the recipes, I have forced myself to restrict it to 2 or 3 snacks/sweets this time πŸ™‚ One of them is spicy diamond cuts. I do not remember my mom making this for diwali. The traditional diwali snacks in our house used to be thenkuzhal, ribbon muruku, and bajji (which my dad demands every year). In the sweets department gulab jamun and kaju katli are the regulars apart from other sweets that mom used to try out every year πŸ™‚ We would start the celebration 3 or 4 days in advance! My sister and me always ended up bickering as to who would burst more crackers and my dad used to play the mediator! Diwali morning we would be woken by the sound of crackers outside our house! My dad is usually the first to start the fireworks in our street:) Soon the whole street would be filled the sound of crackers:) Me and my sister would finish sampling all the sweets/snacks, rush to wear new clothes and go to burst crackers for a while.In the evenings we would visit friends place or they would come over!! Ahh what fun we had. Before I turn this whole post on my childhood memories of diwali, lemme go to the recipe. I have eaten these diamond cuts in my friends’ place and have always liked them. Since they are easy to make I decided to make them this time. I will be making few sweets too, the recipes of which I will be posting soon πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tbsp ginger garlic paste
  • 1 tsp chilli powder or chilli paste (add more if you like it spicy)
  • 2 tsp ajwain
  • salt to taste
  • water for kneeding the dough
  • oil for deep frying

Method:

Add all the ingredients and make a stiff dough.

Let the dough rest for 30- 45 minutes.

Make balls of the dough and roll out the dough thinly like you would roll a chapati/roti.

Use your knife/pizza cutter and cut diagonal lines throughout in such a way that you get diamond shapes. Do this with all of the dough.

Heat oil in a pan in medium flame.

Add these diamond cuts and fry when the oil is hot. Do not add all the diamond cuts at once. Fry them in batches.

They are done when they turn golden brown.

Take them out place them in absorbent paper to drain the excess oil and store them in an air tight container.

These biscuits make a very good tea time snack πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Recipes, SALADS , SNACKS & CHATS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

