Methi oats crackers

WP_20140907_016

There was a bag of half eaten bitterguard chips near me and as my hands went to take another bite I realized how oily my hands were. Few hours ago in the grocery store with RB, I had persuaded him to get me those chips after hearing some good reviews from my friends for that particular brand. The selling point they made was that they did not taste oily. But as I was munching on them from my living room sofa I couldn’t see how they could have said it was not oily. Tasty yes! But it was way too oily for my liking. Those few helpings of the chips had increased my craving to eat something savory and crispy and it was then I came across the oats cracker recipe from sharmispassion blog. I thought the recipe looked super healthy and easy to make and there I immediately went to the kitchen and baked my own crackers changing the flavorings to suit my taste and there it was- yummy and easy snacks to much on! It reminded me of the Indian snack khakra:)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cups oats (I used it whole, U can coarsely grind it)
  • 3/4 cup wheat flour
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 4 tbsp chilli and garlic flavored olive oil (you can use any oil)
  • 1 tbsp kalongi/nigella seeds
  • 2 tbsp tbsp dried methi leaves/ fenugreek leaves
  • 1/2 cup water

method:

Mix all the dry ingredients until they are combined well.

Add oil to it and start making a dough my adding water little by little.

The dough will by crumbly and will not hold properly. Don’t worry. Keep adding water until you are able to hold it together.

preheat your oven to 250 deg F. Meanwhile line a baking tray with parchment paper

Roll the dough with a rolling pin and cut into pieces. You can cut them in any desired shapes. Some of the dough in the corners will crumble and fall apart. Just gather the extra crumbled dough and roll again and cut into pieces.Keep doing this until all the dough had been cut into pieces.

Place them on the baking tray and slightly brush them with oil. Bake until they are golden brown. It took me around 20-25 mins

Store it in an airtight container 🙂

Note:

You can experiment with your own flavorings.

This entry was posted in Recipes, SALADS , SNACKS & CHATS and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

