Greek salad

InstagramCapture_f85fc420-01e5-4647-b2b5-07cbb10020b1_jpg 
I am not much of a salad eater. But there are days when I feel that I should be eating healthy, fresh and light. It was During one such day that I dragged RB to a salad bar in my place for dinner. RB, the health conscious freak of our family agreed immediately. I’ve had my share of Greek salads before but something about the Greek salad I had there made me fall in love with it instantly! The freshness of the lettuce, the crumbly salty feta cheese and the refreshing cucumber made it taste amazing.I went straight to the grocery store from the restaurant and bought all the items I would need to prepare it at home next day. From that day on it became a frequent item on our dinner menu! Let me share the recipe with you: (I have not added olives in my pic as I was out of olives that day. It still tasted good. But you cant have a Greek salad without olive can you?)

For the dressing:
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar or apple cider vinegar
  • 1 clove garlic chopped finely
  • 2 tsp sugar (or as per taste)
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • parsley chopped finely
  • 2 tbsp feta cheese
For the salad:
  • 1 head romaine lettuce
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 red onion
  • 1/4 cup olives
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese

Mix all the ingredients together for the dressing. Let it rest for a while for the flavors to get infused well. If you prefer the dressing on the sweeter side, add more sugar to it

Chop the lettuce, cucumber, tomatoes and onion.Add feta cheese.

Mix the dressing to the veggies and refrigerate it and serve chilled or you can eat it immediately 🙂

This entry was posted in Recipes, SALADS , SNACKS & CHATS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

