Beetroot rice/biriyani

beetroot rice

I hate beetroot! Something about the reddish pink color on a savory dish just felt revolting to me. Yes, I have had my share of advices from my parents growing up as to how it is good for health and how I am being stupid by not eating it. I remember trading my lunch with my friend’s whenever my mom packed beetroot in my lunch box during school days! πŸ™‚ All said I am now married to a man who loves beetroot. Although he loves my cooking, praises me at every chance he gets, he still wishes I would make beetroot often at home. Last week wen RB and I went grocery shopping I saw some fresh beetroots and immediately RB grabbed it looking at me saying you have to start eating it too. I immediately thought to myself that I was going to make beetroot chocolate cake! Something I’ve made before. But as I was browsing for some other beetroot recipes at home for inspiration I came across a beetroot rice recipe in many blogs and I thought why not make beetroot rice for his lunch next day?! After all it was him eating it and not me πŸ˜€ I referred many recipes and finally created my own version. I must admit when I was cooking I thought RB was going to have to eat an overly sweet rice tomorrow! But this recipe surprised me! I actually ate this for lunch myself the next day πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup beetroot grated
  • 1 onion finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup green peas
  • 1/4 cup corn
  • 1 1/2 cups basmati rice washed and soaked in water for 20 mins ( you can use normal rice/brown rice)
  • 1 tbsp ginger garlic paste or finely chopped ginger garlic
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp fennel seeds
  • 1 bayleaf
  • 2 cloves
  • 1 inch cinnamon
  • 2 cardamon pods
  • 1 or 2 green chillies slit
  • 1 tsp chilli powder (or as per your taste)
  • 1 /2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 2 tsp biriyani masala ( substitute it with garam masala)
  • 2 tbsp finely chopped coriander leaves
  • 1 cup light coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp oil/ghee
  • 1 1/4 cup water for rice
  • salt to taste

Method:

Wash and soak basmati rice for 20 minutes. Drain the water and set it aside.

In a pan/pressure cooker add oil/ghee and add the whole spices ( cloves, cardamom, bay leaf, fennel seeds, cumin, cinnamon ) and let the cumin seeds splutter and all the spices give a nice aroma!

Add the onions, ginger garlic, slit green chillies and saute until the onions become translucent.

Then add the grated beetroot, peas, corn, chilli powder and turmeric powder, biriyani masala/garam masala and saute for 2 minutes.

Add the drained rice and add the coconut milk, salt and water to it.

Add the corriander leaves ( you can also add mint leaves to it. It will give a nice flavor)

Mix well. Now you can either pressure cook it for one whistle or let it cook in a closed pan in a low flame. If you are doing it in pan, let it first come to a boil and then cook it it a low flame until the rice is cooked well! I personally prefer cooking in a closed pan as I have control over the cooking of the rice!

Once done fluff the rice with a fork and serve hot with your choice of raita or potato chips πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Recipes, RICE VARIETIES and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

